Thanksgiving| Prayers and Aspirations

MacArthur's Prayer

Dear friends,

It’s the (Canadian) Thanksgiving Long Weekend!
And a good time to reflect on items of thanksgiving for this year. ‘Family and friends’ come up frequently on this list. And we’re often grateful for the reminders and upbringing of our parents (and/or mentors).  (This reminds me of the importance of training up future generations (Proverbs 22:6) or, as children, remembering the teachings of our parents (Proverbs 3:1-5)).

The passage in the photo above (“General MacArthur’s Prayer for His Son”) has been on my parents’ fridge since my childhood, and I’ve read it many times over the years (while trying to find food in the fridge, or waiting for my food to heat up…). After looking up the harder words in the dictionary, the older me now has learned to appreciate the selflessness and the incredible amount of hope he placed on his child. Returning home today, I came across it again. And I’ve always wondered, what kind of a man he was, General Douglas MacArthur, and how did his son turn out?

And what wonderful aspirations he had for his child! Not for wealth or worldly greatness, but worthy characters (to stand up through trials, humility, compassion, to master himself before he seeks to master others, to head towards the future but never taking the past for granted,  strength with meekness) that would make him a great man in whatever position he held and wherever he went.

Of course, it made me wonder what aspirations my parents had for me. And whether I had achieved any of them. And to be thankful today for their upbringing and prayers. And also for being blessed with mentors and friends who take the time to teach me because they believe I can be more.

So “family and friends,” if you’re reading this, my thanksgiving item this year is you!

And what are YOU thankful for? (They say people who are thankful are happier and healthier, so it’s good actually good practice to do this!) And did you let them know you’re giving thanks for them right now?

 

Take care for now,

ITL